Home > Feeling this > Music might not be entirely dreadful in 2010 part 2: The Indelicates – Songs for Swinging Lovers

Music might not be entirely dreadful in 2010 part 2: The Indelicates – Songs for Swinging Lovers

With the possible exception of Los Campesinos! (mainly because they are the only band who yet have gone to bat for the ILB brand identity of playing Football Manager whilst downloading from PWTorrents), The Indelicates are our favourite band of the past half-decade. And they’re dropping a new album! We’re so excited, for the first time in ILB history we’re just going to C+P an entire press release rather than insert shitty zings into the text. Enjoy after the jump:

Cast your mind back to the halcyon spring of 2008. Indie distributors danced happily through the acid green money-fields of Camden, hand-in-hand with the joyous executives supping decadently from the salary cocktails served by sub-prime indie labels. Every other haircut was the genius we’d been waiting for and everything was amaaaaazing. There were banks and mortgages and public services. There were advertising revenues and advances. All was well in the western world.

Somewhere in this fisher price quagmire, The Indelicates saw fit to release their debut album, American Demo – a spite fuelled howl of discontent, it sat distinctly at odds with the time – but still succeeded in gaining the band a serious national and international following. Now, having successfully begged their label to let them out of their contract they are back with their new album – Songs For Swinging Lovers – and a new record company – that anyone can sign themselves to anytime it suits them.
Recorded in Berlin by gifted producer Ed East (Chikinki), Songs For Swinging Lovers is a stunning,  diverse and intellectually complex record that marries the band’s trademark lyrical precision and songwriting skill with a broad palette of musical styles and influences. The strains of country, Weimar cabaret, holy bible-era manics, belle epoque cafe music, Muder Ballads-era Nick cave, 90s indie and 70s sleaze can all be heard in the arrangements.
A more personal album than it’s predecessor, Songs For Swinging Lovers veers between the furious (Your Money, Flesh) and the reflective (Savages, Sympathy For The Devil) with detours into the metaphorically historical (We Love You, Tania) and the outright disturbing (Roses).
The Indelicates are convinced that the much discussed collapse of the record industry is being absurdly hyped as something that will harm ‘artists’ and even ‘music’ itself. They believe that the weakening of the economic power held by labels and the undermining of their business model by various facets of the Internet can only benefit those who are actually committed to making music. They are vociferous opponents of the measures proposed in the governments’ ‘Digital Economy Bill‘ and are heavily involved in the campaign to stop it becoming law.
As such, they are treating this release as an opportunity to experiment with the long-accepted norms of the recorded music market. Working with investors, web developers and artists they have built ‘corporaterecords.co.uk‘ an innovative new digital audio platform that is free and easy to use and that allows anyone to release their recordings quickly and simply in a way that encourages the free sharing and promotion of music while giving fans an incentive to reward artists as they see fit.
Songs For Swinging Lovers will initially be available exclusively from the corporaterecords.co.uk site. Once it is released, you will be able to blog, twitter or otherwise share individual tracks (or the whole album) with single static links that take your readers directly to a download page where the song or album will be available on a ‘pay-what-you-like‘ basis using the share code and social networking buttons provided.
Following the initial release, we will be releasing in the following formats.
  • CD
  • Digital (inc. iTunes enhanced LP)
  • Special Edition: CD + full length book of supplementary essays ‘Apologies and Explanations’
  • Extra Special Edition: CD + ‘Apologies and Explanations’ + Art Book + Customised USB album (details TBC)
  • Super Special Edition: As above + Simon and Julia will come round your house, perform the album for you, record the performance and sign a contract transferring the rights in the master to you.
The books will both be available independently.
The joint project of Simon and Julia Indelicate, The Indelicates formed in Brighton in 2005 – with Simon’s lead guitar and Julia’s piano backed by Ed Van Beinum’s Drums, Kate Newberry’s Bass and Al Clayton’s Rhythm Guitar. They were joined in 2009 by bassist Lawrence Owen and guitarist/backing vocalist Lily Rae and currently have a floating line-up for live shows, (with much of the new album favouring a lusher, more acoustic sound). They have played and been released all over the world, headlining the second stage at Austria’s frequency festival, supporting Art Brut in Germany, Amanda Palmer in Scotland and The Vaselines in New York; as well as touring extensively in europe and the UK. In 2009 they released a well-received poetry book and continued to give performances of Simon’s ‘Book of Job: The Musical’.
Largely so as to never have to be called a Brighton Band again, Julia and Simon moved to Lewes in 2007.

Categories: Feeling this Tags:
  1. March 18, 2010 at 1:46 am

    can’t wait to get my hands on the new album – I hope the Super Special Edition is available in Australia too 🙂

  1. April 11, 2010 at 12:59 am
  2. April 11, 2010 at 12:59 am

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: