Home > Pour one out > Steven Wells: 1960-2009

Steven Wells: 1960-2009

steven wells

This guy was an absolutely stone-cold nap lock-on to captain my dead pool team in 2010, but no, even in death he has to piss me off. Captaincy will now be transferred to Stefano Borgonovo. The last email the prick sent to me during our correspondance of last year is after the jump, although sadly I’ve lost the email where he explains that Bizarre Magazine offered him an unpaid blogging position “to help break into the journalism industry”. :awes:

I am so bored of fans moaning about of critics. It should be legal to shoot anybody who uses the phrase “dancing about architecture” in the mouth. Fans are docile scum. Subservient consumerist lickspittles who serve no functions other than to suck cock and pay for the privilege. In fact the only fans of any merit are stalkers. They at least take the celebs’ promise of love at face value and demand satisfaction. I also fucking loath this notion of the critic being some sort of public servant.
In short I found the whole Squarepusher thing horribly defensive and navelly.But I thought it great that the whole metafilter debate turned into a discussion of me. Because I am an egotistical cunt.
Do you really not lionise punk over Toto and Journey? Seriously? Not even X Ray Spex ?That would be so cool if it was true.  Freelancing is fucking hard, that’s for sure. Especially when you’re writing for Americans with several less layers of irony. There are still people over here who don’t “get” the twoi thing. (I don’t even see that there’s anything to “get”). Or the Sarah Palin is Rock and Roll thing. The feuds I have going on here with plane-pointing peasants, man, you’d shit. Talking of which, you’ll see I used the granddad Simpson thing on the Guardian today. It’s all shouting at clouds, man. I’d love to use that as the logo for a column some time.

I am so bored of fans moaning about of critics. It should be legal to shoot anybody who uses the phrase “dancing about architecture” in the mouth. Fans are docile scum. Subservient consumerist lickspittles who serve no functions other than to suck cock and pay for the privilege. In fact the only fans of any merit are stalkers. They at least take the celebs’ promise of love at face value and demand satisfaction. I also fucking loath this notion of the critic being some sort of public servant.

In short I found the whole Squarepusher thing horribly defensive and navelly.But I thought it great that the whole metafilter debate turned into a discussion of me. Because I am an egotistical cunt.

Do you really not lionise punk over Toto and Journey? Seriously? Not even X Ray Spex ?That would be so cool if it was true.  Freelancing is fucking hard, that’s for sure. Especially when you’re writing for Americans with several less layers of irony. There are still people over here who don’t “get” the twoi thing. (I don’t even see that there’s anything to “get”). Or the Sarah Palin is Rock and Roll thing. The feuds I have going on here with plane-pointing peasants, man, you’d shit. Talking of which, you’ll see I used the granddad Simpson thing on the Guardian today. It’s all shouting at clouds, man. I’d love to use that as the logo for a column some time.

Goodnight sweet prince, gonna listen to the shit outta “Tigermilk” tonight in yr honour.
EDIT: I suppose what I’m really trying to say is:
Categories: Pour one out Tags:
  1. Swells fan
    June 25, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    Thanks for this. Really, really great.

  2. oldrope
    June 26, 2009 at 2:58 am

    Nice one lad, Swells will be missed and it’s good to see him ranting on till the end.

    My own shitty twopennworth is here and doesn’t do the old bastard justice: http://oldrope.wordpress.com/2009/06/25/in-memory-of-steven-wells/

    still expecting one last email from beyond the grave to tell me it’s shit and needs a rewrite ;o)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

