Home > Post-midnight Youtube filler > Post-midnight Youtube filler #3: 50 Cent ft Milk Dee – I Get Money (DJ AP remix)

Post-midnight Youtube filler #3: 50 Cent ft Milk Dee – I Get Money (DJ AP remix)

 

45cal25 (4 months ago) Hide  -6    Reply | Spam

50 cent is tight I think lilwayne is the best wrapwr

I don’t know. I honestly don’t know. Was this an official remix? Did this video ever get any airplay? Why had I never heard of DJ AP at any point up to the release of this? Does Milk Dee really live comfortably off “Top Billin'” sample royalties? And why can’t I find that t-shirt I saw online once that, literally, had a milk carton smoking a blunt with the slogan “Milk is chillin'” underneath? I don’t know.

What I do know: “Top Billin'” is probably one of the 30 best rap singles ever made, and as a result I can pretty much listen to anything that reinterprets it, and that includes singles by such beloved 10/10 hip-hop acts as Wyclef Jean and Ugly Duckling. The idea of getting a rapper onto a track that samples a track he recorded ten years ago, and then not bothering to turn up into the studio with him, is pretty hilarious. Not as funny as Milk desperately trying to look like he’s in the original video with some video-editing skills that could best be described as “sub-Channel U”. 

Fuck it though. It’s Milk Dee, it’s “Top Billin'”, it’s a remix of the, what, fourth best 50 Cent track ever, and that late 2006/early 2007 period where rappers suddenly remembered that the genre existed during the 80s (Chamillionaire ft Slick Rick, Nas’s “Where Are They Now?”) was probably my favourite hip-hop craze of the decade so far. Milk’s chilling in sample juice, apparently. Fair play.

  1. Maria Smedstad
    October 24, 2008 at 9:25 am

    Milk lives off White Boy with a Feather royalties.

    Also, lol u like Uffie.

  2. October 24, 2008 at 2:57 pm
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

